Our Honored Guest from Japan

Will speak at San Onofre Peaceful Protest at San Onofre State Park on 311 anniversary starting at 12:30 p.m. on Sunday March 11,2012. They will also appear in San Clemente At Our Fukushima Remembered event at the community center in San Clemente starting at 6 p.m. March 10,2012.
Ms. Kyoko Sugasawa
I was born and raised in Sendai City, Miyagi Prefecture (*). I live with my husband, his parents, and our two children (3rd grader and a kindergartener). I am still confused about this honorable invitation because I am just a housewife. Before March 11th, I saw protesters on the street or heard speeches against nukes, but was apathetic about nuclear issues. I ran a small deli that sells food. In the devastation of earthquakes, people rushed to my deli to get their food. Because I did not know anything about radioactive contamination at that time, I led my customers and myself exposed to radioactive contamination.
After a while, I started organizing study groups with lecturers and activists against nukes. With concerned parents, I organized measurement of radioactive contamination in school yards. We found out that our school grounds are as contaminated as the soil in Fukushima. Then, we started negotiations, protests, demands to the board of education in Sendai city, or to municipal governments and representatives. We joke that parents like us are using this HTM Language = Hoshano (radioactivity) Tatakau (fighiting) M (against) amongst ourselves despite the fact that many who aren’t concerned are called “Radioactive Geeks/Fools” by those who are less concerned. I also have dilemma about this trip because my family members I have constant quarrels about my activism.
(*Miyagi Prefecture is the North neighboring prefecture to Fukushima. It is one of the most devastated places by Tsunamis and earthquakes. Its Onagawa Nuclear Reactor is also damaged by the disaster, but it is hardly ever reported in news media.)

Mr. Hirohide Sakuma
I was born in Fukushima city, Fukushima Prefecture. I live with my wife and a two year old daughter in Miyagi. My wife is from Aomori, and is furious about Rokkasho Reprocessing Plant (**1) and Oma Nuclear Power Plant in Aomori. Since we saw “When the Wind Blows”, we became conscious about the horror of nuclear power and weapon making policies. I joined anti-nukes movement since 1988 after Chernobyl. But in some part of my mind, I didn’t expect this accident to happen even after I collected so much data about Tepco. I regret that I threw all these data when my daughter was born and when we moved my office in 2010. My family members are able to talk about Fukushima nuclear accident, but are suffering from the response from institutions like kindergartens, federal and municipal governments. As a breadwinner of the house, my mind is constantly debating wether we should evacuate from Sendai, or is this a kind of risk that we can reduce?

About residentsorganizedforasafeenvironment

Vision for ROSE Working for the good of the Mother Earth. To provide a safe and clean planet for our children and grandchildren, and the seven generations to come. Working to support Ethically Sound Environmental decisions for the future. We hold the power of our vision in our own hands.
This entry was posted in ACTION ALERTS, NUCLEAR NEWS & INFO. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our Honored Guest from Japan

  1. Thank you for the invitation.
    Moreover, please invite.
    The sea of San Onofle.
    I would also like to protect the beauty.
    You, California, need to protect to one clue.
    It expects beautiful nature and love.
    It was my big stage today.

    Gene-san, thank you.
    Thank you for the member of Rose.

  2. Pingback: Disharmony of SONGS « State of Flux

Leave a Reply

